An AIP book signing weekend

Learning about my autoimmune diseases has opened up a new world of friendships for me.  I met two wonderful women, Mickey Trescott and Sarah Ballantyne, online through my search for health a couple years ago.  Since then, they have both written amazing books.  Mickey is the author of The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook and Sarah is the author of The Paleo Approach and the soon to be released The Paleo Approach Cookbook.

Living in the Pacific Northwest, I took the opportunity to take a short vacation to Seattle WA to attend their joint book signing along with Russ Crandall of The Ancestral Table.

My 12 year old son and I took off Thursday afternoon for our 5 hour drive to Whidbey Island, just north of Seattle.  The drive didn’t go as planned and it took us much longer to make it to the Washington state line than expected.  But, we still made it to the Mulkiteo Ferry by 9:00pm; and were the 2nd to last car on.  The sun was setting and it made for a beautiful 20 minute ride to the island.  We had a wonderful visit with extended family.

027

Saturday morning, we caught the 10am ferry back to the mainland and made it to Seattle just before noon.  It was great to meet up with a couple of Pacific NW AutoImmune Protocol (AIP) group members; sharing our stories and learning about how AIP is helping each of us heal in our own way.

Then came time for the triple book signing; Russ, Mickey, & Sarah are being introduced in the picture below.  Each took a little time to share their journey and how turning to a paleo type life-style has helped each of them find health.  Their stories are all amazing and if you’re not familiar with them, I highly recommend reading about them.

042

The room was packed and there were great questions.  The Ancestral Table explains how Russ went from having a stroke at 24 yrs old to weaning off his cocktail of over a dozen medicines just by changing his diet.

The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook has priceless lists of food to include, food to avoid, shopping lists and sample menu plans; followed by 100% AIP compliant recipes to walk you through how to transition and enjoy a healthy life.  Her Avocado Citrus dressing is amazing!

The Paleo Approach gives you all the science behind WHY the autoimmune protocol is critical for anyone with an autoimmune disorder or disease.  For instance, Sarah explains why eating grains causes my psoriasis to flare.  I can’t wait to get my copy of her cookbook.  It will have over 200 of her AIP compliant recipes!

It was amazing to visit with all three of these wonderful people.  Our trip continued with a stay just south of Seattle and then the long drive home on Sunday.  But, it wasn’t over until after we stopped at the Cultured Caveman in Portland OR for a completely PALEO lunch!  I had Shepard’s Pie with ground beef & liver and a topping of mashed carrots, cauliflower, & parsnips.  My son had the chicken strips with cream of broccoli soup; which he devoured.

046

This journey has been amazing and I love meeting all of the wonderful people along the way!  Oh, and the things kids say… I started my family on this journey about 4 years ago.  We slowly transitioned as I learned more until we are now paleo and I follow a modified AIP lifestyle.  As we pass the “Golden Arches” there is a reader board which states “billions and billions served”; my son states “and THAT’S supposed to reassure me?!  Ick!”  So glad I found a healthy way of life while my boys are still young enough to learn how important eating properly is.

About MomLadyOR

Learning to love the Autoimmune Paleo way of life and healing through nutrition.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

